Gulf Shores & Orange Beach Vacation Reviews

We know that your vacation is important, and we value your input and feedback on your Gulf Shores experience.  Read what others have to say about their favorite vacation properties, and don't forget to leave us a review about your memorable getaway.

Total Reviews: 2
Great for our family group
Rating:
Review Date: 07/10/2016
jancG5008RN
Right on the beach and everything was clean and ready when we arrived. As others have said the public boardwalk is immediately next to the house but that did not bother us. The layout was not on the website. It's one bedroom on the main floor off the kitchen the has two queen beds. Five bedrooms upstairs. Three face the gulf. The one in the middle has the 4 bunks. This room is quite small but very doable for our group. TV in that room didn't work but we never missed it. The back two rooms were nice. One has two twin beds and the other has two doubles. Loved having two refrigerators. Agree with others that having a pool under the deck works out surprisingly well. There were a few small issues with burned out light bulbs, nonworking outlets, gate latch on the main floor deck and the kitchen garbage can cabinet. Those small items didn't negatively impact our experience. Bring coat hangers if you want to use any of the closets. Would easily stay there again!
Andrew's Sandbox 8/15/15
Rating:
Review Date: 08/22/2015
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Other than a shortage of dining room chairs property was very well equipped. It was disappointing that realtor did not give us first right of refusal ( as many beach places do) for 2016. It was already booked. The pool availability and beach access were spectacular.
Total Reviews: 4
The last bastion of paradise...
Rating:
Review Date: 12/17/2016
A FlipKey verified reviewer
One of my favorite places to stay on this whole earth...thank you Gantt and Ted for sharing one of the most wonderful beach cottages one could imagine! The special touches you provide your guests is so rare. You have set the bar so high!
Unique and Secluded Beach Experience
Rating:
Review Date: 10/29/2016
A FlipKey verified reviewer
The unique location of this wonderfully updated cottage made for the ultimate beach experience. If you are looking for a lot of noise, commercialization and crowds, this is not your style. If you like seeing the night sky void of all light pollution, long lazy afternoons on the screen porch listening to the ocean, and a true natural beach atmosphere, this is your spot. The owner and caretakers are all about your experience exceeding expectations. Simply stunning.
Amazing place!!! We will return
Rating:
Review Date: 11/15/2015
LorrifromWelcome
This cottage is so beautiful, very clean, we loved it so much and we were so happy to relax and unwind. Time stood still. The view is breathtaking right from inside the house! The cottage is decorated so nicely, nothing fussy, very comfortable and right out of a magazine pretty! Very updated. It's nice to step away for a few days and find joy in simple pleasure like watching "henry the heron", walking on the beach, picking up shells, sitting on the porch with the sun your face. Sitting on the screened porch is amazing, views from every angle, we liked to eat outside on the table on the porch, or relaxing there on the sofa, and watching the sun set!! We opened up the doors to the bedroom and watched the sun rise right from the comfortable bed, it was something I'll never forget. We knew from the pictures that we wouldn't want to leave when we got there, so we stopped at the Walmart Super Center on the way in and got out food, that was a good thing, because I never wanted to leave this place. It is so peaceful. No one bothered you, we had the beach to ourselves, a few fishermen, that's it. One day we took a walk for over an hour and never saw another person. Such solitude. We cooked and ate in, and the kitchen has all you need including a keurig coffee maker, all the dishes and cooking items, we went low key and loved, loved, loved this house! I feel like we found a true treasure!!! Thanks for sharing your house Gantt
From Shack to Shackless
Rating:
Review Date: 05/18/2015
Tricia T
I have been coming to this house since 1998. It was like camping at first - now I feel I am staying at the Plaza. The many updates and improvements are delightful. The view and beach never change, but the house has been transformed. Albeit there was more sleeping space in the early cottage 8 to ten where now you can comfortably fit 6. The kitchen has been reworked beautifully but the missing west window really leaves off the beautiful sunset and there was room to put a larger window in the space that is there. Glad to have updated air-conditioning, although we did not use it, as in early May there is no need with the gulf breeze, but it would be nice to be able to open the windows to let the air flow at this time of year. I guess we were spoiled by the plain and simpleness of the early cottage, but I am glad to we do not have to "fix" anything during our time there. It really needed a makeover and the job was well done. The bathrooms have been really updated nicely and the whole place is stunning.
Total Reviews: 1
Great way to pass time
Rating:
Review Date: 01/16/2017
Paula Rowe
My husband and I stayed here along with my 3 siblings and their spouses for Christmas break. It was a wonderful home away from home. The place was immaculate and well equipped. The kitchen had everything needed to have meals. We were able to do our laundry. There are porches had beautiful furniture on each level so we could enjoy watching the bay. Televisions were in each bedroom. Board and card games were on hand. The ocean was just a short walk away. We were close to restaurants and shopping. An outlet mall was a short drive away. It was everything we could imagine. We were very pleased and will stay here again.
Total Reviews: 2
Best place in gulf shores
Rating:
Review Date: 07/04/2015
A FlipKey verified reviewer
This is the best kept best location and best equipped rental we have ever rented. All the kitchen needs are there two coffee pots just a great rental. The proximity to the beach is great the dock on Little Lagoon is fantastic for fishing or just watching sunrise or sunset. The rental is well kept youngs is very attentive and helpful. The location is great the road is less busy and the beach is not to crowded. We will being renting this again and again
Manager Response: 07/06/2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Young's Suncoast at the Beach Retreat! We are so happy that you are pleased with your stay. We look forward to serving you on your next visit! See you soon!
Home away from home
Rating:
Review Date: 06/11/2015
cajun20152015
The beach house looked exactly like the pictures on the Internet. They had everything in the house that you would have in your home. The location was perfect. Very roomy, can't wait to go back next year!
Manager Response: 06/11/2015
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay with Young's Suncoast Vacation Rentals! We are so happy you were pleased, and we look forward to seeing you again next time!
Total Reviews: 1
Very nice condo, a few issues. Would recommend this for families.
Rating:
Review Date: 10/22/2016
A FlipKey verified reviewer
The condo was advertised as a 4 1/2 bath...there was only 4 baths...we never located the 1/2 bath!. The ice maker was not working. And, the internet was not working. We contacted the corporate office and they finally sent someone on Tuesday to fix it. It worked partially, however, we could not view videos on our iPads...not a strong enough signal. Also, the 1 beach key was a real issue, you have to use it to get onto the beach and off the beach, very inconvenient for a large group.
Total Reviews: 2
Mrs.
Rating:
Review Date: 11/19/2016
A FlipKey verified reviewer
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only negative was having to leave. Staying on the beach was so refreshing. We watched the sunrise and the sunset. We also watched porpoise as they passed by.
Boardwalk
Rating:
Review Date: 07/27/2014
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Great location right on the beach. Everyone involved with the operation friendly and want you to enjoy your stay. The only negative comment I would have is the parking.
Total Reviews: 2
Nice Room
Rating:
Review Date: 11/09/2016
A TripAdvisor Member
Very clean. Fully furnished, had everything we needed. Good location. Parking lot fills up but didn't have much trouble.
Vacation
Rating:
Review Date: 07/12/2016
A4839ZOtomp
Our stay was great , beach was awsome service was good . The only thing is they give you a price but it is not the full price they add a cleaning fee of over 230 dollars. They should be up front with a full priceof the condo.
Total Reviews: 1
Boardwalk Gulf Shores AL
Rating:
Review Date: 07/15/2015
A FlipKey verified reviewer
We had the 3 bedroom on the 10th floor. It was very clean and nicely furnished. We enjoyed our stay.
Manager Response: 07/15/2015
Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review for your stay with Young's Suncoast in 1087 at the Boardwalk! We are delighted that you were pleased and hope to see you again soon!
Total Reviews: 1
Awesome vacations
Rating:
Review Date: 05/17/2017
joycef140
Enjoyed our stay at this vacation rental very much. Very clean, comfortable furnishings, and a good location. Have been spending our vacation at this property for the past 20 + years and have enjoyed everyone. Have recommended this to several friends and they are regulars at this property also.
Total Reviews: 4
had a great time
Rating:
Review Date: 11/10/2016
A TripAdvisor Member
loved the location of the room . kids and grandkids 12 in all were in same building and able to see who was on the beach or in the pool.
Great Week at the Beach
Rating:
Review Date: 06/28/2015
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Really nice codo right on the beach and an easy walk down the beach to the Hangout
Cute condo!
Rating:
Review Date: 01/03/2015
bamabeauty2013
The décor of the condo was awesome and the bed was comfortable. I loved the kitchen but the outside furniture was rusting and needed to be replaced. The major problem I had with the condo is that the Wi-Fi did not work which meant the smart TV did not work, which affected our ability to watch nextflix like was stated in the ad for the condo. Furthermore, which was WORSE...we rented the condo to watch the 50 inch TV because we were here during the bowl games and first ever college playoff. Well....this Vizio tv had THE WORST PICTURE EVER. Maintenance tried to fix it but was unable.You could not adjust the picture because the menu button for the TV would not change the settings. SOOOOO frustrating. We ended up have to go out to places to watch the games which costs us extra money we did not intend to spend. The owners need to use another cable or satellite company with HD capacity or quite advertising the place with the amenity of a nice television BECAUSE IT WAS NOT. WE WERE EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!
184 Boardwalk and Suncoast Realty
Rating:
Review Date: 08/29/2014
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Great! We had lots of fun, trip was too short! Nice condo but a bit small for the 3 of us. Well kept and super comfy bed too! Good appliances and when the toaster pooped out, Suncoast sent one over right away, they rock and would definitely use them again! One con: Sofa bed kept folding up on its own LOL. My recommendation would be to replace it.
Total Reviews: 1
Mother's Day 2017
Rating:
Review Date: 05/15/2017
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Updated condo that sleeps 8 comfortably.The bunk room was close quarters but fine for teens or small children. Plenty of carts to carry your luggage and groceries. Only disappointment was no hot tub.Would definitely stay there again.
Total Reviews: 2
Great location and awesome beach view
Rating:
Review Date: 11/10/2016
A TripAdvisor Member
Convenient to food and entertainment within walking distance. Good because sometimes it's hard to get a parking spot when you return if you have to leave. The management company was awesome. The only downside was that the mattress in the extra bedroom used by the adults could have been better. For the price we paid it had everything we needed. This place is right on the beach with an affordable restaurant next door.
No complaints
Rating:
Review Date: 05/29/2016
bschoolm
Room and hotel facility was nice. We booked room due to proximity to hangout fest . 10 minute walk. It was great.
Total Reviews: 3
Great Location Great Price
Rating:
Review Date: 06/24/2016
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Location was perfect close many favorite restaurants. Boardwalk 386 decor was nice and very spacious for our group of 5 for the price. Security guard was on site. This was perfect for our 4 days in Gulf Shores.
Nice
Rating:
Review Date: 05/12/2016
susanlM5034WN
The unit was very nice, accommodating, and nicely decorated. We enjoyed our stay. The only negatives were: when there's a lot of rain, the balcony holds water at the door entrance. In fact, I almost fell when going out the first time not knowing it was standing water and slipped. Had to clean the water up twice -- no fun! The kitchen was lacking several useful utensils. Could use kitchen scissors, wooden spoons, and Tupperware with lids. Otherwise, very nice unit. Thanks.
Pre Wedding stay
Rating:
Review Date: 08/27/2015
A FlipKey verified reviewer
The Condo Boardwalk, was nicely furnished & the Decor was nice and bright, thus suiting the Beach Theme, plenty of bedding for the pull out bed, plus the Kitchen adequately furnished( with exception trashbags). One main complaints, both beds /bedding was gritty( sand in the sheets), and there was moisture puddling on the living area floor. We had to continue to mop up the floor, something to do with the A/C drain line The Balcony was spacious enough to seat 7 of us, the location was ideal for walking to the restaurants and bars. Wouldn't mind staying there again, as long as the water puddling issue gets resolved
Total Reviews: 3
Good location just Needs a good cleaning, a fresh coat of paint, and some fluffy new pillows.
Rating:
Review Date: 04/18/2016
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Our family visited this condo during our Spring Break time. Upon arrival we found the condo very dirty and a bit run down. The balcony was sticky (seemed to be spilled beer) and black ashes all over. Which I immediently wiped with an entire roll of paper towel and bar of soap before my kids tracked it all over. I also wiped the kitchen tile floor and many of the white cupboard doors which were also quite dirty and it wasnt sand which would be understandable being by the beach. Though this is suppose to be a smoke free unit my kids found, half way through our week, a used cigarette butt under the couch and a cigar stub under the King bed. Yuck, obviously whoever cleaned prior to our stay didn't sweep these areas! The wand on the window blind was broke off in the king bedroom, looking toward the ocean. So you couldn't open the blind to view and if you pulled the string to raise the blind the whole blind fell out of the bracket. Which happened with my two year old standing near by which was pretty scary. The bathroom fan just off the king bedroom has a barring going out and sounded like a jet motor when turned on. The pull out couch bed was quite dirty with food crumbs so my son choose to sleep on top of the couch instead. The King bedside rail was broken and propped up on a block of wood. We wouldn't have noticed except one morning the block gave way and the left side of the bed dropped 6 inches to the floor. My husband and I are not big people by any means so it was quite scary! The drain of the Tub shower was really slow, so ankle deep water was the norm if showering in it. The high table and bar stools don't work that great with young kids. Overall the condo decor is as pictured. One of the reason we choose this condo over others was the tile and laminate floors and leather couches vs other condo units with carpet and fabric upholstery. The floors and couches were easy to wipe and sweep the sand that was tracked in. The newer refrig is nice and the updated walkin shower was a nice addition too. It was also nice to have a security guard walking the premises. The condo pool was clean, kept up and enjoyed a lot by my kids. We didn't report our findings or problems to the Rental Management which probably would have dealt with some of our issues. We kept busy enough chasing the kids from the pool, to the beach, to the shops to hassle with maintenance. This could be a really great place with a little more TLC.
Manager Response: 05/01/2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Boardwalk. The unit has been remodeled with granite counter tops, all new flooring, new furniture throughout, new bedding, upgraded bathroom fixtures and showers, and has had a fresh coat of paint. I am so sorry that you did not report any of the issues listed above as we would have been happy to take care of all of that for you.
The Best!
Rating:
Review Date: 08/23/2015
A FlipKey verified reviewer
This condo and its location was the best! Easy access and close to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Having a balcony and view of the beach was a plus! This unit was nicely furnished and clean. This was the most relaxing vacation I have ever enjoyed! I will return!!!!
Condo 483
Rating:
Review Date: 09/18/2014
A FlipKey verified reviewer
The Condo was great. Only had one small issue and it was fixed as soon as we called the office. It is right on the beach and has ALL, if not more, amenities as home. The only issue we had was the security guard was a little creepy and rude. He banged and banged on our door. We kept saying who is it and what do you want? He never replied and just kept banging. After several time repeating the banging, he finally said he was security and were we ok. We said we were until he scared us all to death! We cracked the door and the reason for all the banging was he indicated it was against Condo policy to hang towels on the the Patio railings. He could have told us that through the door and stopped all the banging and fear! We told him we thought he could have handled the situation better. His reply was: "I'm only doing my job. Then very sarcasitcally told us to have a good day and left. Made us very uncomfortable. We noticed other condos had their towels hanging for quite some time. I guess he didn't bang on their door!
Total Reviews: 6
BoardWalk room 484
Rating:
Review Date: 06/04/2016
jillt188
Good room for a group of 4. No problems with anything and the beds weren't too bad. I would stay again.
Suited our needs...
Rating:
Review Date: 04/04/2016
A FlipKey verified reviewer
No spa (jacuzzi), nor real amenities, but it was near and clean. Our pull out sofa was broke and they couldn't fixin it so I had to sleep on a inflatable matters. I chose the couch b/c they ended up getting it closed at least. It was located well but parking was bad.have to park across street. But for the short notice it fit us just fine.
great place
Rating:
Review Date: 08/21/2015
A FlipKey verified reviewer
room clean and happy place, location is right on the beach and Sea and Suds have great oysters and drinks on the deck.. No complaints. I liked having washer and dryer.
Great stay. Great customer service.
Rating:
Review Date: 07/12/2015
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Great customer service from start to end. Clean room exactly as seen online, excellent customer service, hassle-free checkin/checkout process (loved the keyless entry). I'd recommend calling to book a room instead of trying to do it online - it's not the most user friendly website. Only negative was that the pull-out couch wasn't very comfy to sleep on.
A little over priced
Rating:
Review Date: 10/01/2014
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Boardwalk has a perfect view of the ocean and easy access to the beach. It is located within walking distance to restaurants and shops, which makes it nice. Parking is limited directly by the building but with more across the street. The dishes in the kitchen were old and needing to be replaced. We actually had to wash the dishes before we could use them. I think it is a little over priced compared to other condos.
Great Vacation
Rating:
Review Date: 06/27/2014
A FlipKey verified reviewer
We love Broadwalk and have stayed there the last several years. The only problem is parking. The parking lot was full (people eating at Sea n Suds) and the parking lot across the street was also full. We had to wait for someone to leave. I believe people paying to stay should have first dibs at the parking lot.
Total Reviews: 2
Boardwalk is the best place to stay!
Rating:
Review Date: 10/26/2016
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Although we had an issue with a door hinge, it was fixed within 12 hours of notification. Between the Young's Suncoast personnel and the rental unit, we LOVED it!
Boardwalk Gulf Shores
Rating:
Review Date: 07/19/2015
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Boardwalk Condos are a great place to stay and very affordable. They are centrally located to everything in Gulf Shores. We have stayed there three times and I would definitely go back!
Total Reviews: 4
Disappointing
Rating:
Review Date: 06/07/2017
teresav962
Disappointing the past few times we have stayed at boardwalk. I think we will try a new place our next stay. This unit was pretty but missing a towel rack in quest bath. The remote for master television didn't have batteries . There were chips and cheese curls under the couch. The showers didn't look clean. Shower walls were streaked and fixtures water spotted. The master bath didn't have a trash can. I think when you spend $1200 + the condo should be clean. We love the location. That is why we have always stay at boardwalk, but keeps going down. I think it was overpriced for average. I have always bragged on boardwalk, but this time ji was ust very disappointed
Enjoyed our 1st stay in Gulf Shores.
Rating:
Review Date: 03/05/2017
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Condo was nice, not as it appeared in pic. Loved the the pool area and dining next door. Walking distance to lots of other things .
Great Place
Rating:
Review Date: 04/05/2016
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Have stayed at Boardwalk 6 years. Love the area and building.g. Have reserved our month for next year but there are two drawbacks: lack of parking and Spring Breakers. It is a very good value for the area.
Great Area
Rating:
Review Date: 06/09/2015
A FlipKey verified reviewer
The area in Gulf Shores is great in walking distance to all eatires and shops The condo was sparsely furnished w kitchen equipment The master bath tub faucet did not work
Manager Response: 06/11/2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Young's Suncoast at the Boardwalk. The Boardwalk condos are definitely perfectly placed in Gulf Shores! We apologize that the kitchen appliances were not ample for your stay. All of the units in our rental program are required to have the following small kitchen appliances: Autodrip coffee maker, Blender, Electric Can Opener, Mixer and Toaster. All units also have a multitude of utensils and varying sizes and varieties of bake and cookware. Thank you for letting us know about the bath faucet, a work order has been placed and completed fixing the knob. We hope that we will see you back next year!
Total Reviews: 1
Great View
Rating:
Review Date: 05/19/2016
melissabX2533LK
We really enjoyed our stay. The only problem we had was the cleaning service woke us up on check out
Total Reviews: 2
Individual
Rating:
Review Date: 11/10/2016
A TripAdvisor Member
Had several plumbing issues, someone before us washed sand and shells down the kitchen sink causing it and the dishwasher to back up. Bathtub was not draining and on the last day the toilet stopped up. Suggestion on Parking, underneath the building should only be for parties with two cars, it takes up too much parking when there's only one car taking up two spots. At one time there were four spots people weren't able to use.
Pretty location
Rating:
Review Date: 08/17/2016
Mimi3babies
The condo was perfect for 2 couples. The location is great! Just need some updated mattresses on the beds and more cooking utensils and storage items. A lot has been regurbished and it's comfortable! Refrigerator needs work. Part of it freezes quickly! Salad froze! Ice make didn't work.
Total Reviews: 1
BOARDWALK #681
Rating:
Review Date: 07/06/2016
I1804RHbarbaras
Great condo...Roomy (3 bedrooms)...Everything was terrific. Always enjoy our stays in Gulf Shores. Always stay at the Boardwalk.
Total Reviews: 4
Boardwalk 682 Awesome
Rating:
Review Date: 06/22/2016
V6097KQgregorym
The pictures shown are actually what it looks like the place is awesome we might even make this our yearly vacation destination we have been to disney and other locations it always ended in the kids complaing and making my time with them miserable. This place is different they never complained once until it was checkout day they tried everything to get us to stay i loved this place i will be back!!!!
Nice place
Rating:
Review Date: 07/13/2015
luckettmanagement
The place was as promised and what the pictures showed. Great view of the water from the deck and master bedroom. The place was stocked with everything needed in the kitchen. We loved the fact that there was a sample packet for the dishwasher and washing machine. We traveled from another vacation area and was instantly able to clean some clothes. The pullout sofa was surprisingly more comfortable than expected. Two negatives: 1) The condo parking is very small and it's hit or miss. There is additional parking across the 4 lane road though and I was able to find parking there when I couldn't at the condo. Inconvenient but even more when you have a family of 5 dodging cars. This negative will not keep me from staying again. 2) Blinds on the windows, there are none! There are none in the master bedroom or the living room. I am on vacation and I want to stay up late and sleep late if I want. Well there is no sleeping late with the bright sun rises. I went to bed around 2am and now being woken up at 6am by the bright light. My daughter slept on the pullout sofa in the living room and she suffered the same problem of being woken up by the sun. The other problem with no blinds is privacy in the master bedroom. I am in my room and I can't change clothes until I check to see if anyone is on the balcony. Needless to mention the problem of having to be careful trying to make love to your spouse with open windows to the balcony. Because of the no blinds, I would not stay in this particular condo again. I AM ON VACATION. I should be able to sleep as late as I want, change clothes and smooch with the wife without fear of someone seeing.
Beautiful
Rating:
Review Date: 06/17/2015
A FlipKey verified reviewer
The room was beautiful , complete with everything we needed. Had grandchildren with us and it was an excellent location for them to walk. The only thing wrong with Boardwalk is the parking. We are in 70's and for us to have to park across the road and walk to condo was trying. Would probably not stay here again because of our age and the parking other than that it was an excellent room and location.
Good Trip
Rating:
Review Date: 08/26/2014
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Our trip to Gulf Shores was a relaxing time in the sun which is what we were wanting, the property at board walk was clean, a little to noisy for my preference, but not real bad, the unit we staid in was nice but it didn't have any curtains which let in way to much light way to early, but we purchased some curtains and problem solved. Overall experience was good but next time I will spend more and upgrade, but for the price we paid I doubt you could beat it.
Total Reviews: 4
Good room for the price.
Rating:
Review Date: 06/20/2016
341jaredn
It was a good room for us. My two complaints are the room was not that clean(we had to call to get new bedding) and the mattress was probably the most uncomfortable thing I have ever slept on. The one main thing you use a room for is sleep and I didn't get much. I actually got better rest on the pullout couch the last night there. If they updated the mattresses we would be happy to stay again.
Manager Response: 07/21/2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Boardwalk. Your feedback was passed along to the condo owner and a new mattress has now been purchased! We hope to have you back to enjoy all that Boardwalk has to offer. Young's Suncoast will be sending you a discount to come and stay in Boardwalk 684 again. We look forward to seeing you soon.